We Are In This Together

image

It has been an ah-ha week. I’ve been able to escape most of work and I’ve been attending Collaborate 2016.  I’ve been learning immense amounts about Oracle.  I’ve been networking.  I’ve been looking around myself and discovering and observing.

I’ve been to two Women In Technology sessions.  I’ve listened to what women are talking about… what questions we ask..  what our concerns and issues are.

I work every day with men from all over the world.  I don’t see most of them seeming to struggle  with many of the things we struggle with.  They do struggle with many of them but we seem to struggle differently.

Listening, I was taken back to freshman semester at Pitt and thinking about being a feminist (not in a bad way) and hating knowing how many glass ceilings there still were… are…  I was taken back to conversations with my son on feminists… and now I’m sitting here thinking about being a woman in technology.

So, here I am.  I’m sitting watching airplanes taking off and landing.  I’m thinking that maybe I’ve come full circle after 20 years and I need to start talking about my first love… Okay my second love, writing was my first… and maybe bring a “l’m not in it to make money” place where woman in IT can talk, read, ask questions and make connections.

I’m not sure where this will go, but… I think it might be an awesome adventure…

Leave a comment